Skip to Main Content

Recent Website Posts

Maryland Veterans Commission

Origins of the Maryland Veterans Commission trace to 1924, when the Soldiers’ Relief Fund Commission formed to administer a State relief fund for disabled veterans of World War I. The Commission became the Veterans Relief Commission in 1929. It was renamed the Maryland Veterans Commission in 1935. In 1971, the Commission joined the Department of Employment and Social Services, which was renamed the Department of Human Resources in 1975. In 1977, the Commission became an independent agency. With the Maryland Veterans Home Commission and the War Memorial Commission, the Maryland Veterans Commission became part of the Maryland Department of Veterans Affairs in October 1999.

The Commission advises the Secretary on all issues relating to veterans and is authorized 29 commissioners.  Twenty eight positions are filled with one remaining as a member at large.  Commissioners are appointed to five-year terms by the Governor and the Governor names the Chair.

Commission Members:

1st Congressional, Robert L. Hanson, Term expires 2024
2nd Congressional, Richard M. Lane, Term expires 2026
3rd Congressional, Joe O. Smith, Term expires 2026
4th Congressional, Franklin Killebrew, Term expires 2026
5th Congressional, Karen E.A. Calvert SMSgt, USAF (Retired), Term expires 2026
6th Congressional, Stanley A. Seidel, Term expires 2023
7th Congressional, Ronald L. Holcombe, Term expires 2026
8th Congressional, Cynthia I. Macri, M.D., Term expires 2025
The Retired Enlisted Association, Charles Green, Term expires 2025
American Ex-POW, Leonard Kirk, Term expires 2022
American Legion, Michael G. Moore, Term expires 2026
AMVETS, SGM James Childs, Jr., Term expires 2026
Catholic War Veterans, Elaine May Stem, Term expires 2026
Disabled American Veterans, Mr. EC Wallace, Term expires 2026
Fleet Reserve Association, Penny Collins, Term expires 2022
Jewish War Veterans, Colonel Erwin A. Burtnick, Term expires 2026
Marine Corps League, Stuart P. Blair, Term expires 2022
Military Officers Association of America, Jim Shiffrin, Maj, USAF (Ret), Term expires 2022
Order of the Purple Heart, Victor W. Fuentealba, Esq., Term expires 2022
Polish American Veterans, Vacant
Veterans of Foreign Wars, CAPT Jerome D. Davis, SC, USN (Ret), Term expires 2026
Vietnam Veterans Association, Robert H. Hartman Jr., Term expires 2021
Korean War Veterans Association, Leroy E. Thornton, Term expires 2026
National Association for Black Veterans, Denise Perry, Term expires 2026
Paralyzed Veterans of America, Mr. Robert Reuter, Term expires 2022
Iraq/Afghanistan Veteran, Raul E. Rosas, IT1 (SW/PJ), USN (Ret.), Term expires 2026
Women Veterans, Kelly E. Welsh, Term expires 2024
At Large, KT Tyler,  Chairperson, Term expires 2025

Contact: Maryland Department of Veterans Affairs, 410-260-3838

Comments are closed.