Skip to Main Content

Search by Category

Veterans Home Commission

The Maryland Veterans Home Commission was created in 1975 to provide a home for veterans in Maryland. In 1999, the Commission became part of the Maryland Department of Veterans Affairs. The Commission advises the Department on issues relating to Charlotte Hall Veterans Home, the only State veterans home.  Charlotte Hall Veterans Home is located in St. Mary’s County.

The Commission has fourteen members. Eleven are named to five-year terms by the Governor with Senate advice and consent, three serve ex officio.

Commission Members:

Brig. Gen. Warner I. Sumpter USA (Ret.), Chair, 2021
Gary Knight, Vice-Chair & Secretary, 2017
Gordon B. Browning, Ed.D., 2014; Kathryn Smith Gleeson, 2014; Lt. Col. Glynn E. Parker (ret.), 2014; Jason E. Franklin, 2016; Thomas L. Davis, 2017; LTC Rod Azama, USA (Ret); Maj. Gen. Andrew H. Anderson, U.S.A. (ret.), 2018; Gloria J. Larman, 2018.

Ex officio: Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr., Governor; C. Bernard (Bernie) Fowler, designee of Senate President; John Wood, designee of House Speaker

Contact: Sharon M. Murphy, Director, Veterans Home Program 301-884-8171

Comments are closed.